Daily Archives: September 27, 2013

Peppermint Coffee, Sweeping and Words

With fall comes the changing of colors, from a summer green to a mixture of orange, red and yellow. Bodies that were painted bronzed from the summer sun are now covered with sweaters and jackets.  Endless days are hasten and baseballs and water fights have been replaced with footballs, tailgating and the endless countdown to Christmas morning.  As the weather grows colder and Jack Frost starts to make his appearance, the Coffee Pot becomes the star of the show.

I have been taking an unofficial poll, for the last 2 minutes to discover that Peppermint Coffee, is my coffee of choice during the dreary days and the “I got me a chill straight to me bones” type day.  I am sure that others might disagree but, this my blog. With my joy of Peppermint coffee comes many of fond memories. Not the actual drinking of coffee part. The only time I ever drank coffee when I was a kid, did not end well; cold coffee, a Denny’s breakfast and car sickness does not mix.  The fond memories I am talking about, are the simple things one does, that brings such joy and love to your heart and in doing so it  unlocks, a spirit in your life to spread peace, joy and love to everyone.  And wow! all that comes from a cup of coffee.ping

Sweeping of the floor.  Is an easy task. A simple task. One that takes little or no effort at all.  With my yellow broom in hand, which comes with a hand grip, I start to effortlessly sweep the kitchen, living room or dinning room floor.  Only to leave a pile in each room. I do manage to sweep the entire room but, it seems getting the freshly swept dirt off the floor and into the trash pin is a major undertaking on my part.  It is as if I don’t want to let the garbage go- Its mine. It belongs to the house, I can’t let it go. 

I was half listening to Chris Tomlin sing, Amazing Grace (My chains are gone) as I was sweeping the living room floor this morning.  My thoughts started to think about Jacob Marley, and for those who do not know who Jacob Marley is.  He was Ebenezer Scrooge’s business partner and was also the first ghost to appear to Ebenezer covered in chains and of course he did have a slight septic tank smell to him, (The septic tank smell was edited out of the book to make the book appear more PC) As I sat listening to Chris Tomlin sing the song, I looked at the little mounds of dirt I swept up in the living room, kitchen and the dinning room. And I thought about my own chains, my own dirt and garbage.  No matter how hard I try I can’t sweep it away, I can’t undo the chains- Only Jesus can.

This brings me to why I have started to write this Journal, Why I am bringing words to my thoughts and feelings. Why? I am sure I have made grammar mistakes. It might not flow right, my meaning might even get lost in unnecessary words, and the list could go on and on…. I talk-write, I write like I talk.

Well my coffee is cold…

Peace, Joy and love from my coffee mug to yours.

Bobby